Creative Crafts Thursday: Hand-stamped Christmas card

Wow, time flies really fast! It’s been a month since I last posted here and right now we are right smack in the middle of January. Unbelievable.

I have a lot of catching up to do so here’s my entry to the Creative Crafts Thursday meme.

Here’s another card I made. The first batch I did were crocheted but due to eye and back problems I managed to make only a few. So I made some more but preferred the easy to make ones using rubber stamps I bought at Etsy. I was relieved that the parcel arrived earlier than anticipated so I was able to use the stamps for this card and have them sent in the nick of time.

Using only a yellow card stock, animals and seal rubber stamps, this is what I came up with:

homemade christmas card

My hand-stamped Christmas card (foreground), Christmas 2012. Behind’s the birthday card my in-laws mailed for my husband.

I used the seal stamps as the centre of the card with the hand-stamped animals around it. I coloured bits of the animals and added broken lines on the border to give it the illusion of a hand-sewn card.  Then I wrote the texts using a metallic gold pen to complete the card.

It’s just a simple card but while making this, a childhood memory suddenly came rushing to my mind, of me and my younger siblings sitting in our dining table busy making our own Christmas cards. I remember the chatter, the mess everywhere, the paste all over the table (even our hands and arms were not spared) and my mother telling us all to be careful with the scissors. I also remember how fun it was despite the chaos. How about you? Are there any  memories that remind you of when crafting?

Do you have some exciting crafts to share? Come join us at Creative Crafts Thursday by clicking the badge. See you next time.

Creative Craft Thursday

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Creative Crafts Thursday: Hand-stamped Christmas card

  1. curiosa kat says:

    making handmade cards and doing all sorts of crafts remind me a lot of my childhood, too. aside from the seal stamp design, i also love the stamped buffalo. so unique! =) wait, it’s a buffalo right? haha

Leave a Reply

